Clergy & Staff

"He calls them to lead your holy people in love, nourish them by your word and strengthen them through the sacraments. Father, they are to give their lives in your service and for the salvation of your people as they strive to grow in the likeness of Christ and honor you by their courageous witness of faith and love."

                                                                                                                                                                       — Preface to the Liturgy of the Chrism Mass

Clergy

 
Fr. Stephen Lyness.jpg

Father Stephen Lyness

 

Fr. Stephen Lyness was born May 23, 1968, in Lurgan, Ireland. He was ordained to the priesthood on June 26, 1998, by Archbishop John Donoghue at St. Peter’s Catholic Church, Lurgan, Ireland.

 

He served as pastor at St Joseph in Washington, Queen of Angels in Thomson (July 2014 - June 2022), and at Georgia State University Catholic Students Association as chaplain and parochial vicar of Mary Our Queen (September 2008 - June 2014).

 

He also served as a parochial vicar at Saint Benedict in Johns Creek, Cathedral of Christ the King in Atlanta, Saint Thomas Aquinas in Alpharetta, Saint Lawrence in Lawrenceville, Saint Catherine of Siena in Kennesaw and lastly at Saint George in Newnan (June 1999 - November 2002).

 

His hobby is riding his motorcycle.

Email: FrStephen@stgeorgenewnan.org 

Deacon Steve Beers

Email: SBeers45@gmail.com

Deacon Ed Buckley

Email: DeaconBuckley@StGeorgeNewnan.org

Staff

Mer Cormier

Business/Office Manager

Phone: 770-683-8972
Email: 
MCormier@StGeorgeNewnan.org

Martha.jpg

Martha Vahanian

Director of Faith Formation

Phone: 770-683-8979

Email: MVahanian@StGeorgeNewnan.org

pic 2.jpg

Mary Gonzalez

Parish Administrative Assistant

Phone: 770-683-8857
Email: mgonzalez@StGeorgeNewnan.org

Libi.jpg

Libi Roberts

Bilingual Pastoral Secretary

Phone: 770-683-8992
Email:
LRoberts@StGeorgeNewnan.org

KathyeS

Kathye Schattner

Director of Sacred Music

Call the Front Office at 770-251-5353

if you need to reach Kathye.

Email: KSchattner@StGeorgeNewnan.org

image001 (1)_edited.jpg

Riley Lochhead

ECHO Apprentice

Phone: 770-683-8976

Email: RLochhead@StGeorgeNewnan.org

00100lPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20190813093149

Connie Cebulski

Facilities Maintenance

Phone: 770-683-8985