top of page



Sacraments are vital expressions of who we are as Catholic Christians. The Sacraments are outward signs of inward grace, instituted by Christ for our sanctification. Each time we receive a sacrament, we respond in a deeper way to Jesus’s call to discipleship. The Seven Sacraments, found in the Bible and officially recognized by the Roman Catholic Church, are as follows:


“The whole liturgical life of the Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments. There are seven sacraments in the Church: Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony.”

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church ,1113

Sacraments of Christian Initiation


"Holy Baptism is the basis of the whole Christian life, the gateway to life in the Spirit and the door which gives access to the other sacraments. Through Baptism we are freed from sin and reborn as sons of God; we become members of Christ, are incorporated into the Church and made sharers in her mission: 'Baptism is the sacrament of regeneration through water in the Word.'"

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1213


"The Eucharist is 'the source and summit of the Christian life.' 'The other sacraments, and indeed all ecclesiastical ministries and works of the apostolate, are bound up with the Eucharist and are oriented toward it. For in the blessed Eucharist is contained the whole spiritual good of the Church, namely Christ himself, our Pasch.'"

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1324


"The reception of the sacrament of Confirmation is necessary for the completion of baptismal grace. For 'by the sacrament of Confirmation, [the baptized] are more perfectly bound to the Church and are enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit. Hence they are, as true witnesses of Christ, more strictly obliged to spread and defend the faith by word and deed.'"

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1285

Sacraments of Healing

Reconciliation (Confession and Penance)

"'Those who approach the sacrament of Penance obtain pardon from God's mercy for the offense committed against him, and are, at the same time, reconciled with the Church which they have wounded by their sins and which by charity, by example, and by prayer labors for their conversion.'"

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1422

Anointing of the Sick

"'By the sacred anointing of the sick and the prayer of the priests the whole Church commends those who are ill to the suffering and glorified Lord, that he may raise them up and save them. And indeed she exhorts them to contribute to the good of the People of God by freely uniting themselves to the Passion and death of Christ.'"

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1499

Sacraments at the Service of Communion

Holy Orders

"Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time; thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate."

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1536

Matrimony (Marriage)

"'The matrimonial covenant, by which a man and a woman establish between themselves a partnership of the whole of life, is by its nature ordered toward the good of the spouses and the procreation and education of offspring; this covenant between baptized persons has been raised by Christ the Lord to the dignity of a sacrament.'"

- The Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1601

bottom of page